About the SafeWork Awards

One of the premier safety awards in Australia, the WorkCover NSW SafeWork Awards were established in 2004 to reward and promote high standards of work health and safety (WHS) in workplaces around New South Wales.

While a safe and healthy workplace is a legal requirement for all NSW workplaces, the SafeWork Awards specifically seek to recognise and reward those organisations and individuals who have gone the extra mile to make their workplaces an even safer environment.

These Awards also serve as an opportunity for colleagues and fellow professionals to share in improvements and innovations that foster safety in the workplace.

If you have come up with an innovative solution that reduces workplace injuries or illness – or if you've developed a program or driven an activity aimed at improving work health and safety or return to work outcomes – we want to know who you are!

Entry is open to any registered business, organisation, individual or not for profit operation in NSW. The rewards for businesses and individuals are immeasurable so can you afford not to enter?

The judging panel for the Awards will include senior representatives from WorkCover NSW, trade unions, employer groups and specialist WHS advisory bodies.

The categories for the 2015 SafeWork Awards are:

  1. Best workplace health and safety management system
  2. Best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue
  3. Best workplace health and safety practices in a small business
  4. Best individual contribution to workplace health and safety
  5. Excellence in return to work for business
  6. Return to work achievement award for workers

Winners in each category may be eligible for entry in the National Safe Work Australia Awards.